Carmen Caine: Author Interview

I discovered Monster by Carmen Caine quite my accident and immediately fell in love with the paranormal adventures of Cassidy Edwards. The bestselling and award-winning author is brilliant at world building and creating characters the readers can’t help but fall in love with!

Name: Carmen Caine
Location: Redmond, Wa
Website: www.carmencaine.com
Genre:  Historical Romance, paranormal
Books:
Awards: IPPY – gold, silver, bronze, Ben Franklin – Gold

 How did you feel about writing your first book?
Well, I’ve been writing since I was three and am going to be 50 next month 🙂 It’s been so long. I think my first ‘book’ was a page, when I was three and I still remember being proud of myself. 🙂

What was different between writing your first book and writing now?
Hmmm… I’ve been dreaming up stories at night to put myself to sleep for as long as I can remember. I don’t see anything different. It is just what I do. 🙂 I think I’m hardwired to live in a different dimension than Earth.

 Where is your favorite place to write?
Starbucks!!!

What author influenced you to become a writer?
J.R.R. Tolkein

What are your favorite books (that are not your own):
Lord of the Rings for fiction and pretty much a lot of nonfiction.

Do any authors influence your writing now?
Actually, every book influences me. I read books continually, to see how other authors use words and phrases and get ideas from that. Honestly, there isn’t a single book I read that I don’t get some kind of idea from, or remember to use a word I’ve forgotten 🙂

If you could do it all over again, would you change anything about any of your books?
Hmmm…once they’re done, they’re done. I never go back and read them. I just move on to the next story.

What’s your favorite book that you’ve written?
None of them. 🙂 hehehehehe… I have a story I’ve been working on since I was 12. I’ve been creating pen names and writing all these other books to learn the craft before I unleash my true heart’s desire upon the world. So, I’ll say that book is my favorite.

Biggest challenge when it comes to writing?
Short stories. I keep extending them… heheeheheh

Easiest part of writing?
When I have a lot of caffeine in my system, I’d say anything. 🙂 W/o caffeine, it is a different ballgame… and getting from word count 22,000 to 45,000 – the hump – seems to take FREAKING forever. 🙂

Any causes that you’re passionate about?
Children and animal rights.

What is your process when you plot out a new book?
Well, I work on tons of plots simultaneously. Right now, I have 7 books completely plotted and sketched… just have to write them. So as I do that, I’m plotting out the next series.

Is there a certain place that you go to inspire new ideas?
Travel 🙂 I love to travel. Been to over 40 different countries and there isn’t one that I don’t come back from that hasn’t given me a fantastic idea.

Any unique or quirky writing habits?
Did I say coffee?

Favorite fictional character (that’s not your own):
I love elves.

How long do you spend researching and writing a book?
Some books – years. Others – four months. Don’t think ever less than four months.

 Do you ever put yourself or parts of your life in your books?
Heck, yeah. The Glass Wall series is actually my life. Hardly anything made up in that book – though it is hidden by shrouds of imagery.

Any fun facts about yourself that you want your readers to know?
That I’m crazy?

 Have you written any books that you never published?
Many, many, many.

 Do you listen to any music while you write?
Can’t write w/o music. 🙂 For each book, I carefully select about 12 songs that I’ll play over and over and over. Songs that put me in a matching mood. After that, I hardly ever listen to those songs and never use them for another book.
 
What’s the toughest criticism given to you as a writer?
Someone told me once that I knew nothing about Scotland. After being raised in a Scottish family and traveling through that country six times, and studying history my entire life. It did show me, however, that I wasn’t showing it in my writing. 🙂

 What has been your best compliment?
I think the ‘Glass Wall’, which is all about loving yourself in the end, and realizing that loving yourself ISN’T being selfish. When someone sent me an email, actually saying that, “you know, that story made me realize that it isn’t selfish to love yourself.” that actually made me cry. I’ll never forget her email.
 
What’s the strangest thing you’ve had to research for your book?
I think all of the crazy things that Al dreams up in ‘The Glass Wall’. 🙂 It was fun, though.

Tell us a little bit about your latest book and why it’s a must read.
Oh, I’m off on finishing the historical Scottish stuff about the plague and writing vampire things. I love writing because it gives me more lives than just this one. 🙂 I would never tell anyone they NEED to read my stories – that sounds so egotistical… just can’t do it.

 Anything that you’re working on right now?
Got seven in the works… just gotta sit and right now. Execution time.

 Advice to budding writers:
Write like you talk. It gets you past writer’s block

Check out her books here!

Heather House: Witch of the Moors: Triple Gold Medal-Winning Novel (Heather House, Book Book 1)

Monster (A Cassidy Edwards Novel Book 1)

The Kindling Heart [2nd Edition] (The Highland Heather and Hearts Scottish Romance Series Book 1)

The Glass Wall

Leave a Reply

